NOTD- You Don’t Know Jacques!

I just got back from getting my nails done at the salon! I’m traveling tomorrow morning for a family reunion, and before every trip my mum and I go and get our nails done together at a salon really close to my place. I usually never get the same colour for both my manicure & pedi, but I ended up being a bit matchy matchy and got You Don’t Know Jacques! by OPI on my tips and toes.

I need to vent a bit though: the salon has gone DOWN. The staff were so lovely and sweet,and I used to love going there once a week to relax and unwind. Now, I feel like it’s a chore just to walk a block! Everyone is in a bad mood, even the customers, the pristine white leather pedi stations are now greying and need to be replaced (white was a bad choice anyways) and the services are all performed in bad spirit and in a bad atmosphere.

Now, the I-just-ate-a-lemon faces I can shrug off- but mishandling my painstakingly grown nails is a NO NO! I forgot to take my glass file with me and got my nails manhandled with an emery board, I lifted my hand out of the soaking bowl and I could see the tips of my nails all shredded up like they got filed with a cheese grater 😥 I was already paranoid about breaking my nails while handling luggage and now I’m going to be slathering cream and solar oil like a mad woman hoping they aren’t seriously weakened. I also got tons of dirty/confused looks & comments by customers and staff at my choice of colour, I guess because it’s more of a frou frou french pedicure kind of place- but I liked the colour, personally. Sorry for the rant, I just feel that nail salons should be relaxing and fun- not snooty and  chore to go through!

It really satisfies the craving for shimmerless, pigmented cremes I’ve been having lately and it’s a nice rich, dark shade that isn’t the typical blackened dark reds, blues & purples found at nail salons and spas. 

Do you ladies have any salon rants to share? I’d love to know if snooty/rude service in nail spas is a worldwide phenomenon, haha! Even though I’m travelling tomorrow, I have some cool entries lines up and ready to post while I’m on holiday, so hopefully my blog won’t be too inactive 🙂

-P&P

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kelliegonzo said,

    i know what you mean, i have completely given up going to salons. they are just dirty and awkward and they always end up either doing stuff i don’t want them to or not enough. i love you don’t know jacques aswel, haha. i can’t imagine anyone not after seeing it on your gorgeous nails ❤

    • 2

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks! I know what you mean about them never doing enough, no matter how many treatments I pay for I always leave with dry skin & raggedy cuticles, esp on my feet!

  2. 3

    Niki said,

    I’d have to say I agree, that’s why I don’t often go to salons anymore, I can’t seem to find one that’s been an enjoyable experience for the last several years in my area! I don’t know why you got such looks about your color choice – I have this color and I think it’s awesome on you!

    • 4

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks for the comment! It’s so sad really, salons are supposed to be a place for us ladies to relax and unwind, not get stressed out! I think most people are so conservative when it comes to nail colour- anything out of the pink to red spectrum is “outrageous”- but more lovely colours are left over for us nail fanatics 🙂

  3. 5

    Jamila said,

    This looks so much better on you! It looked like dirty mop water on me. Sorry for you had a sucky salon experience. You are much braver than I though. I would have broke out in hives during the filing. They would have thought I was crazy! Lol!

    • 6

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Lovely name, Jamila 🙂 I was shuddering the entire time, trust me! I just wanted it to be over so I wouldn’t end up with mismatched nails, but I’m never letting them near me with an emery board again lol! I loved your blog, would you mind if I added it to my blogroll?

  4. 7

    this a beautiful colour lovee it

  5. 9

    donnyspal254 (Kath) said,

    Your nails are gorgeous and that colour looks great on you! I understand your reaction to your salon experience. I’ve never been to one and I don’t think I ever will! I don’t think I’d like anyone else filing my nails!! As for people’s reactions to YDKJ – sod ’em I say, I think it looks awesome.

    • 10

      pixelsandpolish said,

      I don’t blame you for avoiding salons, I think I’m going to stop going too 😦 I guess mum’s advice is always best- it’s best for one to learn how to do things themselves! Thanks for the lovely comment 🙂

  6. 11

    xhelenx said,

    Hello! I found you via Brooke. Fabulous blog.

    I never go to a salon for a manicure as figure I have a much better polish collection myself! Plus I had a couple of years of nasty acrylics so no desire to go back!

    YDKJ is my favourite polish of all time – so sod anyone who thinks differently!
    I’ve added you to our blogroll as well – I hope that’s ok.

    • 12

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! I really need to improve my home manicure skills so I can avoid icky salons. I totally agree with you, YDKJ is such a lovely colour, anyone who doesn’t like it can avert their eyes haha!

  7. 13

    Lucy said,

    Love your nails and that shade is just beautiful on them. Can you complain to the salon owner. What a shame to have such poor service and grouchy people. How do they ever expect to make money. I never go to a salon for nails. I’d rather do it myself. That way I know I’m not getting any unsanitary tools used on me. I can’t believe anyone still uses an emery board! All they do is shred nails. I have a friend who is 95 and she still used the emery board. I bought her a glass file but she doesn’t like it. Can’t change old people.

    • 14

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thank you 🙂 I think I am going to complain to the owner, it’s such a shame for a place with such potential go downhill. I know what you mean about older people, my mum still thinks glass/crystal files are a marketing ploy haha!

  8. 15

    Linda said,

    It happened again! It hasn’t happened in a long time. You have given me the courage to vent…long time coming. My current nail girl (very sweet) english is 2nd language, so she speaks very little. When she has someone helping her the conversation is in her Native tongue. When she starts talking (Wow!) watch that electric nail file. It’s like no one else matters. Sometimes I butt right in, in English, of course! That doesn’t last long though. Very annoying!!!

    • 16

      pixelsandpolish said,

      I’m really coming to the conclusion that salons aren’t worth the trouble anymore! Sometimes we have to butt in to save our nails but it’s never fun, so I feel your pain 😦


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

