Haulage!

Ever since I started taking better care of my nails, one of my favourite shopping spots has been a large discount store chain in my home town that carries TONS of Japanese products. I love higher end brands too, as well as drug-store lines such as Sally Hansen and Rimmel, but these Japanese polishes always come in so many fun colours to experiment with (especially for someone who started out with a grand total of 4 bottles of polish to her name) that don’t break the bank.

I picked up a bunch last night for the grand sum of about 2 US dollars each, I wanted to post some swatches but my crappy timing meant it was already dark and attempting to accurately take pics was a fail 😦 

These photos of the pretty bottles will have to do till I can post proper swatches on my nails. They are all glittery, for some reason I always head directly to glitters when it comes to bargain shopping!

The first three are from a brand called “Winmax New York”, and what I loved about them is how smooth they dry, none of that gritty finish glitter polishes are known for.

This is 15, a sheer pink jelly with rainbow glitter

27 is sheer pearly white with rainbow glitter

28 is a sheer silver with lots of very fine silver glitter

The next three are also from Winmax New York, but come in shorter, chubbier bottles, and unfortunately don’t have the same smooth finish

432 is really unusual- a clear polish with lots of chunky glitter suspended in it reflecting pink, gold and green/blue 

430 is clear and packed with gold glitter with a bit of green, it looks really lovely layered over dark greens

 

439 is the one I think I’ll get the least use out of- it’s a really old school tinsely silver glitter in clear polish The brush never really grabs much of the glitter- it really reminds me of Supernova from the LA Girl Rockstar collection but it looks like the glitter in Supernova is much denser.

The next three were the the prettiest looking but ultimately the biggest disappointment, they looked wicked in the bottle but when I opened them up I found out that the brush was reaaally skinny, like a nail art brush. It just isn’t appropriate for such glitter polishes with sheer bases, in my opinion 😦 I think I’ll probably move them to empty bottles later and keep the brushes for nail art.

I got one in my favourite colour, green! It’s full of green goodness and rainbow glitter

Next up is a lovely sheer full of chunky and fine glitter that gives off a lovely pink to turquoise sheen. The brush is especially terrible here, it’s too thin to pick up any of the bigger glitter

The next one was the most disappointing of the three, I think. I was imagining my nail encrusted in black glitter, and all I got was a sparse dotting of black, it just made my nail look dirty. Maybe if used with a proper brush I’ll get thicker coverage, but it looks so pretty in the bottle nevertheless. 

And last but not least- my favourite from the entire haul.

This one is branded “Delicia by Winmax” and comes in a tiny bottle. In one layer it’s a very sheer gray with really fine shimmer, it’s very buildable but never harsh, it just becomes a lovely soft shimmery charcoal- I love it! I’ll definately be using it for a future NOTD.

That’s my entire Japanese haul, I’ll have swatches and more by tomorrow!

25 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    ooooooohhhhhh eeeemmmmmm ggggggeeeeee!!
    Do you live in the US? Where do you have access to all these gorgous polishes?? I can’t wait to see what these will look like on.

    Also – amazing work on the pictures again! It really looks like you have had some training on photography, they just look wonderful! I would love to be able to take some really great pictures. I think i have the right kind of camera – just not the know-how. Anyway – fabulous! I can see I am going to really, really enjoy your blog 🙂

    • 2

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Brooke, thanks so much for all your comments and encouragement! Sadly I don’t live in the US, I’m traveling on Sunday for a week but when I’m back I’d love to send you some polishes! I’d love to see all the lovely mani’s you’d come up with using them 🙂

      As for the camera, I just use the macro setting on my regular point and shoot- it’s usually the setting with the little flower symbol, and it’ll let you take great closeups 🙂

    • 4

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Lol it’s a long story, I guess I’m what people would call a “third culture kid” with a really mixed background. I’ve lived in Dubai my whole life and I go to university here, so I guess it’s the place I most identify with 🙂

  2. 5

    As a matter of fact – I’m going to do a special NBOTB post just on your blog – I really think it’s that’s great 🙂

  3. 6

    Velvet said,

    Hello…welcome to the nail blog world! Love your konading video,and the lay out on your blog. I’ll add you to my blog roll.

  4. 8

    Great blog! Love the video you did with your Konadicures! And the pictures on your blog are awesome! =D Looking forward to see more!

  5. 10

    jhoannz said,

    nice blog! keep em coming….

  6. 12

    Kae said,

    Hello! Looking forward to more great posts 😀

  7. 14

    Love all the glitter polish. I must be regressing in age, because at 36 years old I’m developing a love of the glittery and shiny nail polishes. I look forward to reading more of your stuff!

    • 15

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks 🙂 I used to feel a bit wary of glitter polishes but I just wear what makes me happy- and nothing cheers me up like glitter!

  8. 16

    Niki said,

    Oooh, those are so great! Good job at snagging all of those fun little goodies, cannot wait to see the swatches of them.

    • 17

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks! I tried swatching them today, but it was one of those times where nothing went right and I ended up with polish & glitter smudged EVERYWHERE and only bad pics to show for it haha!

  9. 18

    […] 13, 2009 · Filed under Uncategorized I was planning on swatching the polishes I showed in a previous post and posting them today, but for some reason the afternoon light was doing no justice to all the […]

  10. 19

    Linda said,

    Enjoying your new blog!
    Dubai–the shopping capital of the world!! Lucky you! No wonder you have those great sparkly polishes from Japan/Korea. Good Luck!

    • 20

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks, I love posting here 🙂 The shopping is great but usually expensive, which is why I love these fun little finds!

  11. 21

    […] now for my haul from the Japanese discount store, Daiso! You can check out better photos here, and I’ll be posting a swatch post […]

  12. 22

    […] Swatches &#183 Tagged Glitters, Japanese/Korean products, Swatches I’ve blogged about the crazy fun polishes I bought from a Japanese discount store in my town, and with my internet on hiatus I finally sat […]

  13. 23

    Anon said,

    I live in the US and there is a japanese chain store called “Daiso” that carries this line of nail polish. I just bought the smoky grey color yesterday!

    Website for Daiso: http://www.daiso-sangyo.co.jp/english/

  14. 24

    Sparkina said,

    These are PLENTY of gorgeous, esp the ones with the confetti sparkles

  15. 25

    nail polish that are acrylic based seems to last longer on my finger nails compared to water based ones “~”


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

