Bargain-bin mermaid

It seems that as with my nails, I cannot leave my blog naked! So here is my first legit entry 🙂

Since I was taking pictures at night, my NOTD (nail of the day) would NOT photograph properly in the artificial light. I was wearing Rimmel London nail polish in Red Carpet (310), a nice shiny red with slight gold shimmer. Not that unique, but I’ve recently jumped on the Rimmel bandwagon- really decent prices, nice colours and good quality. Plus I can find it easily where I live which is a big bonus. But alas, in my dodgy lighting all I seem to be able to pick up is a flat red- I really need to take my pics in daylight! So instead here are some interesting finds I picked up in a bargain bin, of all places.

They’re made by a Korean brand I’ve never heard of- Farm Olive (or is it Olive Farm? The logo is confusing me!). Since the colours were so cheap I was worried they might be really ancient and a bit off- I just picked up two colours, 633 which is a lovely blue with gold shimmer, and chock full of tiny silver micro glitter (if my descriptions are off forgive me, I’m new to this!) and 604 which is see-through blue FULL of glitter. I mean it is paaacked! There is at least 4 different types/sizes of glitter suspended in the loveliness that is the blue, and when it reflects the light it just reminds me SO much of a mermaids tail. I am not much of a blue person, but they were such a steal that I just went for the two most unique shades- now I really want to go back for more! I remember there was a lovely pistachio green shimmer… sigh …

 

More pics and my verdict after the cut…

  

I’m not sure if it shows but the gold glint in this polish really made me notice it, and I usually avoid most blues.

Doesn’t it look like mermaids tails glinting in the ocean?

Glitter!

Oh my goodness- my raggedy cuticles! I’m so sorry, I need to sort them out *cringe*. In this shot the brush lines are obvious despite using three coats.

The sheer glitter over the blue- please ignore the chip, I’m a bit overzealous in my swatchery!

Verdict: I was a bit let down with the visible brush strokes but to be honest, the price I paid for both was ridiculous so I shouldn’t complain. They are fun colours to play around with especially for someone with a quite small/growing collection like me, and dried surprisingly well- but I know they aren’t everyones cup of tea (they certainly were not my mums). I’d like to try some more shades from the brand and if this blogging thing goes well I might even use some for a give away 🙂 Korean/Japanese products are always fun!

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hey, it’s Brooke from Getcha Nails Did. I just read your comment you left about adding me to your blog roll – OF COURSE YOU CAN!! I have no problems with that at all.

    I will add your blog to next weeks New Blog on the Block post, so be looking for that next Monday.

    Keep up the good work here and I look forward to seeing your wonderful posts in the future!

    *****

    You took some really great pics here! I love that glitter polish!! Big chunky glitters make my world go round!

    • 2

      pixelsandpolish said,

      Thanks so much Brooke! Your comment really made my day 🙂 I really appreciate the feedback, and as a long time reader I’m SO excited to be featured on your New Blog on the Block post, thank you again!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

